Information about the Czech Republic

On January 1, 1993, after the breakup of the Czech and Slovak Federal Republic, the Czech Republic was established as an independent state.  It lies in the central part of Europe, bordered to the west by Germany, Poland to the north, Slovakia to the east and Austria to the south.

As of March 31, 2016 the Czech Republic had a total of 10,558,524 inhabitants and an area of 78,866 square kilometres.

The Czech Republic political system is a representative democracy, a parliamentary republic.  The president is a head of state; the bicameral Parliament of the Czech Republic is the supreme and sole legislative body.  Government is accountable to the Chamber of Deputies.  The president is elected every five years by direct election.

Administratively, the Czech Republic is divided into 8 territorial units as well as 14 self-governing regions.  Capital and the natural political, economic and cultural centre of the country is Prague (1.2 million inhabitants), which has also the statute of the autonomous region.  Every region is governed by its own elected regional governor.

The Czech Republic national symbols are large and small coat of arms, national flag, banner of the President, state seal, state colours and national anthem “Where is my home”.  State symbols refer to the Czech state medieval traditions  (char), the Hussite movement (the motto on the banner of the President), National Revival (Anthem) and democratic Czechoslovakia (flag).

The Czech Republic is a member of the European Union, the United Nations, the North Atlantic Treaty Organization, the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, the World Trade Organization, the International Monetary Fund, the World Bank, the Council of Europe, the Organization for Security and Co-operation in Europe, the European Customs Union, the Visegrad Group. It also is the part of the Schengen area, the European economic area and other international structures.

Czech Republic is a developed country with a market economy.  The development of the state economy is mainly involved in industry, agriculture, services, transport, tourism and foreign trade.  The unemployment rate is low in the long term and below the average rate of developed countries.

The Czech Republic is an inland country.  Major European watershed separating the basins of the North, Baltic and Black seas run through its area. In the Czech Republic there are four national parks and twenty-five protected landscape areas.

Thanks to its location and long history, the Czech Republic has a considerable amount of both religious and secular architectural monuments built in all main architectural styles.  In the Czech Republic there are  12 sites registered on the list of UNESCO world cultural heritage, many towns and villages are protected as conservation areas or zones.